The BUCS Downhill Mountain Biking Championship 2012 | Celeb Sports

The BUCS Downhill Mountain Biking Championship 2012


The 2012 BUCS Barefoot Wine Downhill MTB Championships took place for the very first time at Rheola, Neath, South Wales last weekend as 350 riders travelled from all over the UK to represent their universities on the technically demanding run considered to be within the top five most challenging courses in the UK.

Riders and spectators were greeted by unusually warm temperatures as the sun shone down over them throughout practice on the Friday and into Saturday’s competition. In the first round all 350 riders attempted to make the time for the Championship round with the top 100 competitors progressing in to the final Championship round to take a shot at the podium places.

The men’s BUCS Barefoot Wine Downhill MTB Championships was decided in dramatic scenes as Emyr Davies (UWIC) currently 10th in this year’s National Male Elite MTB DH rankings, piped Jack Reading (University of Manchester), and ranked four places higher than Emyr in this year’s current national standings, to the championship gold by just 0.072 of a second. The drama unfolded late in the day when in the penultimate run Jack set the quickest time of the day completing the downhill run in an impressive 3:05.451 with only Emyr left to go.

Jack took his place on the hot seat, reserved for the rider with the quickest time of the day, but within a matter of seconds he was toppled from his throne as Emyr crossed the line in 3:05.379 to successfully defend his 2011 BUCS Barefoot Wine Downhill MTB Championships title. The fantastic battle between two of the very best riders in the UK was not unappreciated by the crowds who had gathered to watch the drama unfold and to see the pair collect their gold and silver medals to loud cheers and applause.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>