NASCAR Ranking: Top 10 greatest NASCAR drivers of all time | Celeb Sports

NASCAR Ranking: Top 10 greatest NASCAR drivers of all time


Several things in existence are up for debate. Others, such as the 10 greatest NASCAR drivers ever, tend to be more obvious. Petty, Earnhardt, Gordon, Johnson &mdash NASCAR has a number of legendary drivers from many eras. But who’s truly the greatest? ranks the ten best drivers ever.

10. Bill Elliott

Call him up what you would like – “Awesome Bill from Dawsonville.” “Billion Dollar Bill,” “Mr. Popular” – he is only a legend. The Georgia native has obtained a remarkable 44 wins and it has 55 rods to his Cup record and won the 1988 championship. Also, he was the very first driver in NASCAR history to win “The Winston Million” – if you take the checkered flag within the sports three exclusive races (The Daytona 500, The Winston 500 at Talladega and also the Southern 500 at Darlington). He am well-liked by the fans he “upon the market” in the National Motorsports Press Association’s Most Widely Used Driver contest after winning it 16 occasions.

9. Tim Flock

Flock, a part of a famous racing family, won two NASCAR Cup game titles throughout his career – in 1952 and 55. A local of Fort Payne, Ala., he taken part from 1949-61, making 187 career begins. He won 39 races for the reason that stretch for any winning number of 20.86 percent, the 2nd best all-time. Also, he gained 37 career pole positions. Flock also won NASCAR’s only sports-vehicle race, in 1955. Flock ranks 18th on NASCAR’s all-time wins list.

8. Tony Stewart

The Indiana-native is a pressure to look at throughout his NASCAR Sprint Cup career. Stewart is capable of doing striking rapidly and moving off a number of wins anytime. He’s a 3-time champion, winning game titles in 2002, 2005 and 2011, winning his latest being an owner/driver together with his Stewart-Haas Racing team. Stewart includes a worst career finish of eleventh within the standings in 12 seasons of Cup competition. He’s 44 wins in addition to 266 top-10 finishes, 162 of these top fives. He’s 13 pole positions to his credit. Stewart has won a minumum of one race in each and every season he’s taken part in the Cup level.

7. Bobby Allison

A charter person in the “Alabama Gang,” Allison checked off virtually all of the achievements drivers desire before his untimely retirement because of injuries in 1988. He Gained 84 career victories (tied for 4th all-time with Darrell Waltrip) in 718 begins, 58 career pole positions, won the 1983 NASCAR Cup championship, gained three Daytona 500 wins, two NASCAR Modified Division championship in 1964 and ’65 and won two NASCAR Modified Special Division game titles in 1962-63. He was inducted in NASCAR’s Hall of Fame this year.

6. Darrell Waltrip

Referred to as Jaws for his outspokenness, the Hall of Famer certainly backed up. In the illustrious career, DW gained three NASCAR Cup titles (1982, ’82, ’85), 84 career victories (tied for 4th all-time with Bobby Allison), 59 pole positions (fifth all-time), and is constantly on the contain the record for many wins at Bristol Motor Speedway with 12 wins (including a legendary seven directly from 1981-1984). Outdoors the vehicle, he would be a effective team owner, winning in most three major NASCAR national series before starting on the television career.

5. Cale Yarborough

Before there is Jimmie Johnson, there is Cale Yarborough. NASCAR’s original empire, Yarborough won three-straight titles from 1976-78. The Hall-of-Famer also won 83 NASCAR Cup races (including 28 throughout his championship run), won 68 pole positions throughout his career and was series runner-in 1973, ’74 and ’80.

4. Jimmie Manley

For those intent and reasons, Jimmie Johnson would be a complete unknown when Ron Hendrick and Shaun Gordon required a go on him in 2001. JJ’s sole highlight reel comprised of climbing from a destroyed vehicle that shot nose first right into a tire barrier. However, nine seasons later, NASCAR had its first five-time consecutive championship. If Johnson’s game titles were not amazing enough, his capability to finish all of individuals first nine seasons one of the top 5 within the point standings, leading to becoming the only real driver to be eligible for a every Chase for that Sprint Cup, simply highlights his legend. Oh, also keep in mind his 55 career wins and 25 rods up to now.

3. David Pearson

Pearson was among the best drivers to ever wheel a regular vehicle, as his impressive statistics and induction into NASCAR’s Hall of Fame show. He sits second on NASCAR’s all-time wins list with 105 victories and gained a trio of Cup game titles despite running under a complete schedule throughout his career. Pearson won his game titles in 1966, ’68 and ’69. Also, he snared 113 pole positions in the career, also second simply to Richard Petty. In a single of his top career runs he won 27 races and handle because the race runner-up 30 occasions inside a stretch that spanned 1968-69.

2. Dale Earnhardt

There’s just one Intimidator. And regrettably, Dale Earnhardt was obtained from the game he loved too soon. Certainly, there have been individuals that thought Earnhardt was determined to win that eighth championship in 2001. Still, his body of labor – seven game titles and 76 Cup wins — would easily qualify him for just about any hall of fame. Earnhardt also collected 21 Busch Series (now Countrywide Series) wins in only 136 begins. Being an owner, Dale Earnhardt Corporation. provided equipment for four NNS titles and 2 truck game titles.

1. Richard Petty

There is a reason why even today, Petty is just referred to as King in and outdoors of NASCAR circles. He’s seven Cup titles (tied for many all-time), 200 Cup wins (nearly all-time), 123 Cup rods (nearly all-time), 27 wins in a single season (1967, nearly all-time), 1,027 career begins (nearly all-time) 10 consecutive wins (1967, nearly all-time), seven-time Daytona 500 champion (nearly all-time).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>